The Starlings

Two times this month I’ve had the pleasure of photographing The Starlings, a fabulous roots/folk/country band. The first time we took photos at the Seven Gables theater. Things started out serious…

Starlings1

…but ended up getting a little punchy.

Starlings2

And then a week later I took pictures of them recording their second album at Jupiter Studios. Here are a few photos from that shoot.

(More photos are on Flickr here.) It was incredibly cool to hear the music being recorded and to listen to each song come together. The creative work I do as a photographer is in general solitary work, and it was fascinating to watch a creative collaboration between four people unfold in front of me. The new songs sounded amazing and I can’t wait until the new album comes out this summer.

 Update: They’re playing at Nectar this Wednesday the 31st and 9:00pm.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

