A Question of Scale

Julia Fullerton-Batten has an exhibit in London right now of photos of what look like giant women:

The first thing that came to my mind was the poster from the movie Attack of the 50 Foot Woman:

And the second thing that came to my mind was “nice Photoshoppery!”

But looking through the comments on Neatorama (where I found the link) it appears that instead of Photoshop, Fullerton-Batten instead used a cheesy-looking Belgian theme park called “Mini Europe.” Unlike the 50 Foot Woman’s “mountainous torso, skyscraper limbs, giant desires!” these women–lost in the mini park–look scared, lonely, and slightly creepy.

6 Comments

  1. Posted February 15, 2007 at 12:09 am | Permalink

    wow, those photos are amazing. what a brilliant idea.

  2. J.P.
    Posted February 28, 2007 at 7:15 pm | Permalink

    I love how the giant women are all redheads. I bet they all have the same name too: Jen.

    🙂

  3. Hilary
    Posted March 14, 2007 at 8:19 am | Permalink

    Hello! I agree that this set of pictures is slightly creepy, however she tries to create a type of ‘fairy tale’ within them too. – “In their fantasies, girls are much more powerful than in their every-day lives and that is why the idea of them towering over houses and streets appealed to me. It was also important for me to show the girls involved in the context of their daily lives, such as picking up a milk bottle from the front of the house, or walking down the street with a shopping cart, or looking after a baby brother.”-Julia Fullerton- Batten.

    A really good interview with her is linked below

    http://180degreeimaging.com/180mag/06oct/julia/julia.html

  4. Hilary
    Posted March 14, 2007 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    P.S they were actually taken in Babbacombe Model Village, in Devon (UK)

  5. Posted March 14, 2007 at 9:47 pm | Permalink

    Hilary-

    Thank you so much for posting that link–I found the interview fascinating and I was glad to see more of Fullerton-Batten’s work. I also completely agree with her that working as an assistant is a much better way to get experience than getting a degree in photography…but maybe I’m biased because that’s the choice I made.

    And thanks for the correction on the shooting location, too.

    Eliza

  6. Posted August 28, 2008 at 8:28 am | Permalink

    I can see full-sized buildings in the background just beyond the trees. It is still a cool picture though.

    Michael


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

