Photographers’ Challenge!

This past Sunday I participated in a very cool photography outing organized by Mat Hayward and a few other local Seattle photographers. Some people (me included) found out about it through the Digital Wedding Forum, an incredible online community of wedding photographers across the country and around the world. Other folks found out about it through photographer friends or other online photo forums. Click here to see photos of the group of us taken by Cory Parris.

The basic challenge was that a bunch of us were set loose in Pike Place Market with one fixed focal length lens (50mm or 85mm, depending on if your camera shoots full frame) and 90 minutes to shoot whatever we wanted. The only don’ts were no driving, although you could walk as far as you wanted, and no accessories such as flash or tripods. We all submitted our five favorites to the organizer who will then post them online in a gallery.

I love that kind of a challenge. But once we were off and shooting on Sunday, I realized how much I rely on zoom lenses. It was a challenge to get the photos I wanted with that single prime lens, even if it is my favorite. Also tough was the fact that Pike Place Market is such a cliché—the bounteous fruit stands, the tossed salmon—how could I get pictures in that place that still looked fresh and interesting? After about 20 minutes wandering in the market I ended up just walking away down towards the waterfront. My favorite shots of the day were mostly in an antique shop down under the viaduct. Here’s one:

I’ve posted a set of them on flickr here. And as soon as the gallery of all of our photos are posted online I’ll add a link to that. I can’t wait to see how everyone else approached the exercise.

3 Comments

  1. Rachel
    Posted February 28, 2007 at 7:43 pm | Permalink

    How much for the set of 12 chairs??

  2. dad
    Posted March 1, 2007 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

    good blog. good idea.

  3. Posted March 1, 2007 at 11:44 pm | Permalink

    Each one had a “SALE PRICE!” of $100. Not so cheap.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

