Winter Beach

I spent last weekend at the beach down in Gearhart, OR. It was wildly stormy for most of the weekend, but it cleared up long enough for one good walk on the beach:

I laid down on the sand for the photo below, not realizing that the wind rushing along the ground (and leaving the sand dollars up on these strange stalks) would cover both me and my camera with sand. Somehow the camera and lens both survived unscathed.

There were six of us (five were photographers) at a fabulous 1960’s beach house. Technically the weekend was a deluxe extended-play version of our book club, but we didn’t spend a whole lot of time discussing this month’s selection (The Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks). Mainly we played Scrabble, cooked, drank red wine, and sat in front of the fire.

There was neat old rattan furniture just like the stuff in my grandparents’ beach house in Quonochontaug, RI, kobenstyle dansk in the kitchen, and big big windows looking out on the water. I love the way beach houses seem frozen in time. I hope my hostess doesn’t mind me showing the contents of the downstairs medicine cabinet, but it was so perfect I can’t help myself.

When I arrived back in Seattle my shoes and ears were still full of sand. For more photos of the weekend click here.

2 Comments

  1. Randy Johnson
    Posted March 19, 2007 at 3:37 am | Permalink

    i came upon your winter beach photos through a google alert for quonochontaug and enjoyed the pictures very much. favorites were the sand dollars, the dune path, and the woman on the sofa during an evening conversation (the lighting and the reflections were appealing). i am a year-round resident of quonnie and probably know your grandparents, though i don’t recognize your last name.

    thank you for posting your pictures. i will watch for more.

    randy johnson
    quonochontaug, rhode island
    march 19, ’07

  2. Posted March 19, 2007 at 6:52 pm | Permalink

    Hi Randy,

    What a roundabout way to find my blog! I’m so glad you liked the photos. My grandparents were Ted and Alice Gurney. Both have passed away, and my aunt now lives in the beach house with the wonderful old rattan furniture. I haven’t been back there in a few years, but I have very fond memories of the the pink beach roses, taking walks out towards East Beach, and the way you can see Block Island on very clear days.

    Eliza


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

