Anacostia Market

Shorpy, “the 100-year-old photo blog” has a photo posted today that reminded me of a picture I took last December in Washington, DC. Here’s the photo on Shorpy, taken by Louise Rosskam in 1941:

And here’s the photo I took:

At first I thought it was the same store: both are on N Street SE in Washington DC. But on closer inspection I don’t think they’re the same; the upper story windows and other details don’t match up. The store in my photograph is across from the construction site of the new Washington Nationals baseball stadium, and I haven’t been able to figure out where Shulman’s market is on a DC map.

8 Comments

  1. Posted March 27, 2007 at 11:11 am | Permalink

    Eliza, thanks for the photo! He is a different view of the store: http://www.shorpy.com/files/images/1a34424u.jpg … the street number is either 485½ or 405½.

  2. Posted March 27, 2007 at 1:03 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the second view, Dave. The colors in both are just amazing. The shot I took was the building on the NW corner of N Street and Half Street SE. (Two blocks east of the arrow on this map). Unfortunately I can’t seem to get Google maps to show me where 405 1/5 or 485 1/2 N Street is.

  3. Posted March 27, 2007 at 4:32 pm | Permalink

    I did a little more research and posted the results in the comments under the pic. The address was 485 1/2 N Street SW. Union Street seems to have disappeared or been renamed. Here is 485 N Street SW today, according to live.com:

    http://tinyurl.com/3do3m3

  4. Posted March 30, 2007 at 9:56 pm | Permalink

    Here’s a map showing the now-vanished intersection of Union and N.

  5. Posted March 31, 2007 at 6:26 pm | Permalink

    Nice research, Dave! And what a great old map. It looks like Shulman’s market is 7 blocks west of the store in my photo.

  6. Alex
    Posted February 11, 2008 at 1:50 am | Permalink

    Dave’s link ( http://www.shorpy.com/files/images/1a34424u.jpg )
    is a broken one at this moment.
    ays
    alex

  7. Alex
    Posted February 11, 2008 at 1:51 am | Permalink

    and the other one (of the map) http://www.shorpy.com/images/photos/union_street_washington.jpg too!

  8. Posted February 11, 2008 at 10:36 am | Permalink

    You’re right, Alex. I’ll see if I can get this foxed…


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

