Spit Hot Fire

Tonight I’m going to an event at the Spitfire Grill for party professionals, and I was reminded of the last time I was at that venue. It was December and I was shooting a holiday party for a video game company. I shot a mix of natural light photojournalistic stuff and traditional grip-n-grin using flash. It was a cool party, complete with prizes, cupcakes, mini hamburgers, and karaoke. Here are a few of my favorite shots from the night.

People at the front bar:

Getting a drink at the back bar:

Grip-n-grin stuff:

Karaoke:

Details:

Mini hamburgers!

I also did a few series of people interacting:

For the color I used digital, and I tried to keep the weird, dark lighting of the event in the non-flash shots. For the black & white stuff I used high speed film (T-Max 3200 pushed to 6400) which turned out really well. I love the grain and the contrast; the digital grain doesn’t have the same look to me.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

