My New Website

So almost exactly two weeks ago, my new website went live. A new website was something that I had wanted and had been talking about for, oh, about two years. I wanted something that was clean, minimalist, and really let my photographs shine. So last year I started hunting around for a designer who could take my inchoate vision and turn it into reality. And the designer I found was Heidi Springer of Grace Design. Heidi was a complete joy to work with.

We first worked on my logo, and I’d send her a list of unconnected things I liked (the logos on 1950’s binoculars and cameras, vintage monogrammed linens) and she’d come back with a series of clear, beautiful design ideas for a logo based on those scattered ideas. I loved the way she was able to take my thoughts and synthesize them into something visually appealing that I never could have come up with on my own.

After finalizing the logo, we moved on to the website. After six years of working on an online magazine in various capacities, I had very particular ideas of what I did and didn’t want. I wanted lots of empty space. I wanted html. I wanted completely dead-obvious navigation. And I wanted the ability to swap in new photos myself, whenever I wanted. Heidi gave me all those things, and I love the elegant, unfussy simplicity of the final design. The part that was the hardest (and that Heidi patiently waited for me to complete over the course of many months!) was selecting what photos to include. I have a feeling I’m going to be tinkering with that for a little while longer, but thanks to the easy-to-update design, that’s not going to be a problem. So go, click around the new site, and enjoy her handiwork!

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 11, 2008 at 7:10 pm | Permalink

    The site looks great!

  2. Posted March 11, 2008 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    Thanks, Aaron!

  3. Posted March 13, 2008 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

    Love the new site! Wahoooo! So clean yet artfully upscale 🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

