The Lab at Velocity

Interior design is a hobby of mine, and I am addicted to interior design blogs. The list of design blogs I read fluctuates constantly, but a few staples include: Apartment Therapy, Decor8, Design*Sponge, and Shelteriffic. So back in March when Grace from Design*Sponge hosted a Biz Ladies meetup in Seattle I went, eager to meet the woman behind the incredible blog and to get to know other women who were running small businesses like my own. At the meetup, one of the things I heard over and over again was how important it was for designers to have great photographs of their work. So I offered to give a small workshop for designers, despite the fact that I’d never taught anything in my life! But Grace posted about the workshop, a ton of people responded, and in April I held a small class on the basics of photography and setting up a mini photo studio in your home.

The workshop ended up being really fun, and I loved meeting the designers and sharing some of my photography knowledge. I plan on having more workshops in the future, both on product photography and for people who are transitioning from a point and shoot to a dSLR, so email me if you’re interested in attending one.

So this is all a roundabout way of talking about an event I went to last night, the Lab at Velocity, where I ran into four of my photo workshop attendees! Jerylin ( a neurobiologist/knitting crafter), Megan (one of the speakers at the event, and a long time favorite blogger of mine), Maria (paper designer extraordinaire) and Fern (maker of cool felt items…I still wish I’d taken a photo of her awesome purple felt bag). I also ran into a recent bride of mine, Danielle, who is a design writer for Apartment Therapy. I photographed her wedding weekend before last and am dying to share photos from it on the blog; they should be up at the end of next week.

I really enjoyed the Lab event. It was more of a round table discussion than a presentation. The speakers were Paola from MirrorMirror, Elaine from Decorno, Mary from Shelterrific, and Megan from notmartha, with John from Velocity acting as host/moderator. Each had a slightly different take on what makes a great blog, and I liked seeing how each one was able to give some insight into how she approached her blog, depending on her own personality, voice, and temperament. They are all much more devoted bloggers than I am–nearly all of them post daily, which I find completely impressive.

It was also fun to poke around in the Velocity store (note all the Heath Pottery behind John in the photo above) and look at all the cool stuff there. I can’t wait for the next Lab…

One Comment

  1. Posted June 5, 2008 at 12:11 am | Permalink

    So cool! I wish I could have went to some of these events! I am a design freak as well. I call it a curse, a good one, but still a curse. I love all the same blogs that you do. What a great idea for a photo workshop, that could really catch on.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

