A New Old Camera

I had a big score this past weekend at a thrift store up in Lynnwood. I found a 1961 Canon “Canonet” rangefinder. Although I already have more than enough cameras, at $4.99 I couldn’t resist it. I just shot my first roll of film with it and I love how light and small it is.  I downloaded the manual off the internet (thank you to all those dedicated people who scan old manuals and post them online!) and found out that it has a non-battery operated “electric eye” light meter and a self timer option.  Sweet! Here are a few pictures of it.

So slim…

Oh, how I love the typography on old cameras!

The film advance lever is on the bottom:

With case open:

And case closed:

Now let’s just hope it’s light tight…I’ll post again once the roll is developed.

3 Comments

  1. michaelwlf3
    Posted February 11, 2009 at 5:50 pm | Permalink

    Those are cool cameras. I gave one to a friend of mine who had done me waaay too many favors over the years, and never saw another one.

  2. J.P.
    Posted February 12, 2009 at 12:38 am | Permalink

    AWESOME! What a find! Can’t wait to see pix from it!

    -jp

  3. Posted February 19, 2009 at 8:49 pm | Permalink

    so cute i want to pet it!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] February 26, 2009 by elizatruitt I went to the beach in Oregon last weekend. Here are a few photos; all were taken with my Canonet rangefinder. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

