The Salvage Bride at the RE Store

This past weekend I photographed a great workshop called “The Salvage Bride” at the RE Store taught by Rachel Kate Bair, who blogs as Stubborn Sparrow. As a long time fan of the RE Store and a general lover of all things used, old, thrifted, reclaimed, etc., this was right up my alley. Rachel talked not just about specific projects brides can do to transform salvaged items into beautiful things for their weddings, but she also talked about the general mindset of looking at things not just for what they are, but what they can be turned into with a little hot glue or some tin snips.

Here’s the whole display:

Here’s a fabulous handmade drill case that she turned into a guest book replacement, complete with spots for note cards and colored pencils:

The room was packed with brides (and a few grooms).

I even met WeddingBee‘s Miss Pretzel and her groom-to-be:

Thanks to Rachel for such a cool workshop…I’m definitely going to be trying out some of those wire spool cake stands for myself!

3 Comments

  1. Barbie
    Posted March 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

    What a fantastic day with beautiful photos!

  2. Posted March 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm | Permalink

    Wow! I love this! I was a big “salvage” bride myself and I scoured all sorts of garage sales and antique markets for unique (and cheap) finds. Awesome pics! (Oh yeah, and Pretzel is a doll, isn’t she??)

    • Posted March 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm | Permalink

      So I told Miss Pretzel I know you and she said she’d just seen you in Vegas! Fun…


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Photo by Eliza Truitt […]

  2. […] Photo by Eliza Truitt […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

