Wedding: Michaela & Joe

I loved Michaela & Joe’s first look…the anticipation, the nerves, and the happiness:

In fact, I loved pretty much everything about their wedding day…how excited they were to be getting married, how stunning Michaela looked in her tea-length dress, that their ceremony was held at one of my favorite churches in the whole city (St. Ignatius) and mostly that this was a couple who are clearly completely crazy about each other.

My favorite moment in their ceremony was when everyone got up to lay hands on and pray for Michaela and Joe. You could feel everyone’s love for the two of them radiating through the chapel.

Michaela had planned the whole wedding wedding from very far away–she and Joe are both serving in the Army overseas–so there were a lot of emails going back and forth in the weeks and months before the big day. And the day itself was one of those perfect Seattle days. Warm but not too hot, brilliant blue sky with a few puffy clouds.

Father of the groom blowing bubbles:

Clearly the cake was a hit:

The father-daughter dance was an emotional one. First Michaela started tearing up…

…and then her dad did too.

After the reception was over, Michaela had a great idea–to get a few photos of her and Joe at the playground near her mom’s house where the two of them went to talk after one of their first dates. Michaela said she knew that night that she wanted to marry Joe. And here they are, married, on those same swings.

Michaela and Joe, thank you for giving me the honor of photographing your wedding. And a huge thanks also to my incredibly talented second shooter, Theo Stroomer.

6 Comments

  1. Aarika
    Posted February 19, 2011 at 8:42 pm | Permalink

    I so enjoy that you share these albums with all of us. I have been reading you for a while and it is such a pleasure to open up my RSS feed and have a new Eliza photo set to view.

    That last picture might be my favorite of yours, ever. Adorable!

  2. Posted February 21, 2011 at 8:07 pm | Permalink

    Wow, great images. I love the hill shots, what a crazy view! Reeally enjoy your work!

  3. Posted February 24, 2011 at 3:30 am | Permalink

    Dear Eliza,

    I enjoy every single photo you are posting here. I’m a wedding photographer, too, living & working in Germany. I love your style, every single photo is subtle, natural and full of emotions – and besides, technically perfect (you truly master the light). You are a great inspiration! And since I’m looking for a wedding photographer for my-(our-)self (the wedding will be next year), i know that it is very hard to find a photographer who is able to take such expressiv photos. Every other photographer has Pics of posing couples, smiling very afflicted.

    Wonderful work!

    Greetings,
    Juliana

  4. Michaela Wagner
    Posted March 1, 2011 at 10:09 am | Permalink

    Thanks, Eliza! I love them all. We are back in the states (i’m in CO and Joe is in AZ) and we are expecting our first baby in late September! I hope we get to come back to Seattle soon!

    • Posted March 1, 2011 at 10:24 am | Permalink

      Congratulations!!! That SO exciting! And be in touch next time you’re in Seattle…

  5. Posted March 3, 2011 at 12:51 pm | Permalink

    lady, gorgeous photos – i especially love the one where the bride is kissing the groom’s cheek and you got it from across the room. LOVE!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

